A Foodie Weekend Part 2: F.O.O.D. at the Mint Museum Uptown

Saturday April 20th, 2013

Mint Museum Uptown
Mint Museum Uptown

We have literally been looking forward to this event for months, so when the day finally came, we were filled with nervous excitement!

While we waited for the event to start (we are notoriously early for all events we attend) we had a little look around the third floor.

This amazing piece of art is in fact many pieces, the buildings are made with plates, bowls etc... and somewhere in there is a coffee cup...
This amazing piece of art is in fact many pieces, the buildings are made with plates, bowls etc… and somewhere in there are coffee cups…

During our wait we also had the opportunity to talk with David Jones, the Kitchen Manager at Studio Movie Grill. I’d never heard about the movie theater/grill that moved into the Epicentre on East Trade before, but I’m excited to go and see what they have to offer. David talked about his vision for bringing more attention to Charlotte and all it has to offer, and who knows we could get Robert Downey Jr. here for the Iron Man premiere. That would make this foodie very happy!

Intro to the food exhibit.
Intro to the food exhibit.

The F.O.O.D. (Food, Objects, Objectives, Design) is the brain-child of the research center FoodCultura based in Barcelona, Spain and is co-organized by artist Miralda. You could definitely feel the Spanish influences throughout the exhibition, and there are signs and labels in both English and Spanish.

The first section is Table, where you can see plates, cutlery and glasswork. The second is Kitchen, where you can see some of the mixing bowls (which I got a snap of before hand,) pots, graters, molds and utensils. The third section of the tour is dedicated to items you might have in your pantry and some that have been around since Mayan times. The Pantry is the focus of the fourth section of the tour and you can see mortar and pestles (have one of those and love to play uh… use it.) The last section is dedicated the the Garden were we saw different grills and other exciting objects… as well as learned how the myth of the unicorn came around…

One of the plates on display....
One of the plates on display….
Mixing bowls...
Mixing bowls…
I saw this on a sign, and had to make my own little version of these foodie rules to live by.
I saw this on a sign, and had to make my own little version of these foodie rules to live by.
The end of the exhibit ends with a wall of recipes. You can write up your own recipe had have the chance to not only see your recipe in the Mint Museums Magazine, but also have the chance to see it on the menu at Halcyon!
The exhibit ends with a wall of recipes. You can write up your own recipe and have the chance to not only see your recipe in the Mint Museums Magazine, but also see it on the menu at Halcyon!

After our tour of the museum, it was time to get to tasting F.O.O.D. so it was time to head down to our first destination. The Halcyon restaurant down on the second level of the museum.

The Menu at Halcyon

Ember Roasted Beets with Carrot Puree by Chef Marc
Ember Roasted Beets with Carrot Puree by Chef Marc
Duck Ravioli with spring veggies
Duck Ravioli with spring veggies

Okay, I am not a duck girl. I like to look at them, but eating duck? That’s a whole other story… but since I was in the mood to open up my culinary horizons, I decided to give them a try. My thoughts? Duck tastes like something between beef and chicken. Will I try it again? Maybe.

All that remained of the Lemon Madeline with champagne reduction and oven dried strawberries
All that remained of the Lemon Madeline with champagne reduction and oven dried strawberries

The third, and last part of our culinary experience took us down to E2, where they had a crawfish boil already going.

E2, Emeril's eatery in the Queen City.
E2, Emeril’s eatery in the Queen City.
Crawfish boil full of 'dem bugs as they are called.
Crawfish boil full of ‘dem bugs as they are called.
Inside of E2
Inside of E2

The manager told us a bit about why Emeril decided to open up a eatery in uptown Charlotte. Not only does he love the city, he is also a fan of Johnson and Wales. We also learned that not all Emeril’s eateries serve the same type of cuisine. He has eateries dedicated to Italian, Seafood, and the all American favorite, burgers.

My plate... but I stuck to the jambalya as I am not a crawfish girl... I couldn't get past the shell...
My plate. I stuck to the jambalya as I am not a crawfish girl and I wasn’t the only one that couldn’t get past the crawfish’s shell.
The strawberry shortcake was my favorite part of my E2 experience. All of the items for this dessert were local sourced and the taste was mind-blowingly good.
The strawberry shortcake was my favorite part of my E2 experience. All of the items for this dessert were locally sourced and the taste was mind-blowingly good.
A view of the museum store. My mum and I made a stop in there before we left for home.
A view of the museum store. My mum and I made a stop in there before we left for home.

I hope you enjoyed my culinary experience as much as I did, and are inspired to make a trip down here to the Queen City (Charlotte) to see what we have to offer.

~thefoodie

Leave a Reply

