A Foodie Weekend Part 3: Queen Elizabeth’s Birthday Tea

Sunday April 21st, 2013

Ballantyne Resort
Ballantyne Resort

This past Sunday we decided to go to the Ballantyne Resort to celebrate Queen Elizabeth II’s birthday. After all why wouldn’t I want to to celebrate the ruler of my ‘hopefully’ future home country? I’ve always loved everything ‘British’ so it seemed like the perfect thing to do.

Since we arrived early, we walked around the hotel to see some of the art collection and other interesting features at the resort.

Beautiful roses in the lobby.
Beautiful roses in the lobby.
Vintage phone. They are one of these by the elevators on each floor.
Vintage phone. There are one of these by the elevators on each floor.
About the artist.
About the artist, Thomas Vieth.
His use of color and over all style was fun to look at.
His use of color and over all style was fun to look at.
I instantly recognized this ode to Trade and Tryon.
I instantly recognized this ode to Trade and Tryon.
Welcome to Queen Elizabeth's Tea!
Welcome to Queen Elizabeth’s Tea!
My tea setting...
My tea setting…

One thing that really stood out about our high tea experience, was that the staff was so accomadating when it comes to food allergies. Have issues with dairy? Well there are a wide variety of items available that are dairy free.

Three tiers of yumminess.
Three tiers of yumminess.
My sandwiches. There were grilled veggies, cucumber, and chicken sandwiches for me...
My sandwiches. There were grilled veggies, cucumber, and chicken sandwiches for me…
My lovely fruit.
My lovely fruit.
Darjeeling Tea.
Darjeeling Tea.
Pistachio Muffin
Pistachio Muffin
My mom is notoriously camera shy, so this is a representation of her.
My mom is notoriously camera shy, so this is a representation of her.
The scone my mom enjoyed.
The scone my mom enjoyed.
Desserts, desserts.
Desserts, desserts.
I can't believe I didn't wear a hat! At least the other patrons remembered!
I can’t believe I didn’t wear a hat! At least the other patrons remembered!

They had the lobby decorated with odes to the Queen and two of our other favorite royals, Prince William and Duchess Kate!

~thefoodie

Leave a Reply

