St. Patricks 2014

I received this little guy from my friend in Northern Ireland for St. Patrick's one year.
I received this little guy from my friend in Northern Ireland for St. Patrick’s one year.

This St. Patricks Day we were really thinking green. I wore my favorite warm green dress to work. (The dress is warm not the green.) When I got home we (meaning my mum and I) pulled out the Shamrock Pasta we’d purchased from World Market.

Going to have this on St. Patrick's Day.
Lucky Pasta (World Market)

We got a little inspiration from the blog, (Where the Boat Is) which is one of my mum’s favorite blogs to read, and created our own version of pasta salad.

Now there’s no clear recipe for what we created. We just kind of winged it, to be completely honest. So, I’ll just give you the list of the ingredients.

  • Pasta (1 bag)
  • Rotisserie Chicken (you can go with grilled if you like. We were going for a quicker option with this one.)
  • Cherry tomatoes (halved)
  • 1 small can sliced olives
  • 1-2 clove garlic (or more if you like)
  • Gremolata EVOO (to taste)
  • Salt/Pepper (to taste)
All done and ready to serve.
All done and ready to serve.

Not pictured… guacamole. It’s not Irish, that’s true, but it is green and we had some absolutely gorgeous avocados that we needed to use.

Shamrock Cookies, for dessert.
Shamrock Cookies, for dessert.

Finally we ended our day with one of the movies set in Ireland that we love. Leap Year.

Matthew Goode & Amy Adam from Leap Year
Matthew Goode & Amy Adam from Leap Year

Well, that’s it for St. Patricks 2014. Looking forward to next year, and until then Erin go Bragh!

~thefoodie

One thought on “St. Patricks 2014

  1. Looks like a great St. Patricks Day! If I would have been thinking Mark and I should have watched “Leap Year” on Monday since it was our anniversary. 🙂 We saw that for the first time when we were at the beach celebrating our 10th anniversary a few years ago. I love that movie too and even have the soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

