Downton Abbey Tea

Sunday March 16th, 2014

Last year we went to the Queen’s Tea at the Ballantyne Resort, celebrating the birthday of Queen Elizabeth II. This year it was the Downton Abbey Tea. We knew from the moment we found out about it that we had to go. We watch the show and absolutely love it, so of course it was a must. Another fact that drew us to the event was the chance to dress in 1920’s style. I had the dress, one I’d never had the chance to wear yet, as well as the shoes and the hat. Add to that my mum’s set of pearls and I had my 20’s inspired outfit.

One of the rare pictures of me.
One of the rare pictures of me.

While I still have to face the fact that I’m one of those people who doesn’t have the blessing of being photogenic, I decided to post this one.

Now, back to the tea. The staff was nice enough to let us keep the leaflets they had created especially for the event seeing we had our tea from 3-4 and the tea officially ended at 5pm. What  a great way to remember the event!

#1
#1
#2
#2
#3
#3
#4
#4

I ordered the chamomile tea, because large amounts of caffeine and I do not get along. My mum went with the Indian Spice. Our sandwiches were mostly the same, except mine were dairy free and my mum’s weren’t. (They cater to those with food allergies, so whenever you make your reservations for tea, be sure to let them know.)

The tea and sandwiches were delicious, but as always we had to take the desserts home. However, before we left I had to take a couple pictures of the flowers in the lobby.

The Ballantyne Resort offers afternoon tea Tuesday-Saturday from 1-5, but I have to say that I love the special afternoon tea events the most. They really are impressive and I’m definitely look forward to one of the special afternoon teas next year.

1932437_10152303411950520_1420594667_n

~thefoodie

Leave a Reply

