Try the World | Japan

Japan...
Japan…
Shimi Choco Chocolate Corn Cookies
Shimi Choco Chocolate Corn Cookies

Shimi Choco Chocolate Corn Cookies | According to the ‘What can I find in my Japan box?’ card, these cookies are a popular children snack also loved by adults as well. Plus with the calcium and fiber in these you’ll feel a little bit less guilty about the whole chocolate thing. (If you feel guilty about that sort of thing… I don’t!)

Takaokaya | Seaweed Snack
Takaokaya | Seaweed Snack

Seaweed Snack | The wild seaweed in this snack is dried in an ancient process that is similar to paper making. You can enjoy them straight from the bag or crumbled over rice. Since we recently took a sushi class, I think I’ll try the crumbled over rice option for this food that I would call an acquired taste.

Kasugai | Lychee Gummy Candies
Kasugai | Lychee Gummy Candies

Lychee Gummy Candies | In 1923, the company that makes these candies opened a small shop in Japan where they sold nuts and dried fruit. Later they developed these gummy candies which are made with fruit juice. Since I love gummy candy whether it’s in the shape of bears or lobsters (serious had the most amazing lobster tummies from Dean and Deluca) I know I’m going to enjoy these.

Aoi Tea | Blueberry Matcha Tea
Aoi Tea | Blueberry Matcha Tea

Blueberry Matcha Tea | So one of the subscribers used this to make some muffins, and I think I might go with that idea. I’ve never had matcha tea before, so I’m interested to see how I like it.

House Foods | Ginger Paste
House Foods | Ginger Paste

Ginger Paste | Recommended uses for this ginger paste is whisking into soy sauce and using it either as a dipping sauce or dressing for a noodle salad… but I’m wondering how it might do with fish. Hmm…

Otafuki Foods | Okonomiyaki Kit
Otafuki Foods | Okonomiyaki Kit

Okonomiyaki Kit | Okonomiyaki is a popular omelette-like pancake that is finished off with savory toppings. The recipe for creating this typical Japanese dish is included in the Culture Guide.

Akagi | Soba Noodles
Akagi | Soba Noodles

Soba Noodles | We learned about these buckwheat noodles in a cooking class @ Williams Sonoma earlier this year, and I’m looking forward to creating a dish with these buckwheat noodles. According to the info card they can be enjoyed both in a hot broth or cold. Decisions… decisions…

Well, that’s the fun new items that were in my Japan box. Looking forward to the box currently on it’s way to me now… Here’s a hint…  “Hola!”

~thefoodie

Leave a Reply

