Spicy Ponzu-Glazed Catfish | Blue Apron

Blue Apron was the second food subscription service that we decided to try this summer, and we were quite impressed from the moment we saw just how incredibly fresh the produce was. We’d received our box on a Friday and decided to cook up the first two meals as part of ‘Dueling Chef’s Challenge’ between mum and I on Sunday. I was in charge of creating the Spicy Ponzu-Glazed Catfish my grandparents would be enjoying, while mum created the dish I will be sharing about tommorrow.

A recipe card that tells about the dish, lists your ingredients and has a full how-to on the back is included for all three dishes included in your box. There was a leaflet about the catfish and some of the facts about the fish, and where it’s sourced from etc.

Our ingredients...
Our ingredients…

Items in the box:

  • 2 Catfish Fillets
  • 3/4 cup White Basmati Rice
  • 3 Cloves Garlic
  • 2 Scallions
  • 1 Zucchini
  • 3 tbsp Peanuts
  • 2 tbsp Ponzu Sauce
  • 1 1 inch Piece Ginger
  • 1 tbsp Sambal Oelik
  • 1 tbsp Sesame Oil
I washed up the veggies for both dishes...
I washed up the veggies for both dishes…
Peanuts, Ginger and Garlic all ready to go...
Peanuts, Ginger and Garlic all ready to go…
Zucchini all sliced.
Zucchini all sliced.
Time to start cooking...
Time to start cooking…
First I made the ginger peanuts...
First I made the ginger peanuts… while my rice started cooking…
While my rice continued to cook... I cooked up my zucchini.
Next… I cooked up my zucchini.
Getting ready to toss my zucchini with sesame seeds.
Getting ready to toss my zucchini with sesame seeds.
Fish ready to go in the pan.
Fish ready to go in the pan.
Rice all done.
Rice all done.
Glazed and cooking.
Glazed and cooking.
Plated and ready to serve.
Plated and ready to serve.

Our Review… I’m not a catfish girl, but my grandparents, my grandfather especially, loves it. I had a lot of fun making the dish and loved all the different steps included in the process. (And fresh ginger just smells absolutely gorgeous!)  I was definitely in a constant state of motion while creating this dish.

Stay tuned for tomorrow post!

~thefoodie

Leave a Reply

